A to Z of Teaching

Kolb learning cycle

A theory that learning involves a learner progressing through four stages: concrete learning, reflective observation, abstract conceptualisation and active experimentation.

Kolb argues that learners can enter the cycle at any stage, and may progress through the stages rapidly or over a lengthy period, but that in order for learning to occur, they will always progress through the stages in order.

Experiential learning cycle
Categories: Learning theory

What's your top 'Kolb learning cycle' resource?