A to Z of Teaching

Bloom's taxonomy

Bloom’s taxonomy is a model which classifies learning objectives by complexity. It identifies six levels of learning, with learning at the higher levels dependent on having attained the required knowledge and skills at lower levels.

The six levels are:

1. Remembering: Retrieving, recognizing, and recalling relevant knowledge from long‐term memory.

2. Understanding: Constructing meaning from oral, written, and graphic messages through interpreting, exemplifying, classifying, summarizing, inferring, comparing, and explaining

3. Applying: Carrying out or using a procedure for executing, or implementing

4. Analysing: Breaking material into constituent parts, determining how the parts relate to one another and to an overall structure or purpose through differentiating, organising, and attributing

5. Evaluating: Making judgments based on criteria and standards through checking and critiquing

6. Creating: Putting elements together to form a coherent or functional whole; reorganising elements into a new pattern or structure through generating, planning, or producing.

Categories: Learning theory

What's your top 'Bloom's taxonomy' resource?